"American Horror Story" on FX is a TV series co-created by former "Nip/Tuck" executive producers and current "Glee" co-creators/executive producers Ryan Murphy and Brad Falchuk.

The first season revolves around The Harmons, a family of three who move from Boston to Los Angeles as a means to reconcile past anguish. The "American Horror Story" cast features Dylan McDermott ("The Practice") as Ben Harmon, a psychiatrist; Connie Britton ("Friday Night Lights") as Vivien Harmon, Ben's wife; Taissa Farmiga as Violet, the Harmon's teenage daughter; Jessica Lange ("Tootsie," "Blue Sky," "Grey Gardens") in her first-ever regular series TV role as Constance, the Harmon's neighbor; Evan Peters ("One Tree Hill") as Tate Langdon, one of Ben's patients; and Denis O'Hare ("The Good Wife") as Larry Harvey.

Guest stars for the first season include Frances Conroy ("Six Feet Under") and Alexandra Breckenridge ("Dirt") as the Harmon's housekeepers; and Jamie Brewer as Constance's daughter.

Shot in Los Angeles, the pilot episode was written by Murphy and Falchuk, and it was directed by Murphy. In addition to Murphy and Falchuk, Dante Di Loreto also serves as executive producer of the series.

Season 2

Set in 1964, the second season, entitled "American Horror Story: Asylum," takes us into a Church-run haven for the criminally insane, ruled with an iron fist by Sister Jude (Jessica Lange), a nun with a troubled past. Inside this locked down facility, danger lurks around every corner. From Nazis and serial killers, to mutants and aliens, no one is safe inside these walls. Starring Jessica Lange as Sister Jude, Sarah Paulson as Lana Winters, James Cromwell as Dr. Arthur Arden, Evan Peters as Kit Walker, Lily Rabe as Sister Mary Eunice, Lizzie Brocheré as Grace, Zachary Quinto as Dr. Oliver Thredson, and Joseph Fiennes as Monsignor Timothy Howard. Guest stars for the miniseries will include Frances Conroy, Chloë Sevigny, Adam Levine, Jenna Dewan-Tatum, Mark Consuelos, and Ian McShane.

Season 3

The third installment, "American Horror Story: Coven," tells the secret history of witches and witchcraft in America. Over 300 years have passed since the turbulent days of the Salem witch trials and those who managed to escape are now facing extinction. Mysterious attacks have been escalating against their kind and young girls are being sent away to a special school in New Orleans to learn how to protect themselves. Wrapped up in the turmoil is new arrival, Zoe (Taissa Farmiga), who is harboring a terrifying secret of her own. Alarmed by the recent aggression, Fiona (Jessica Lange), the long-absent Supreme, sweeps back into town, determined to protect the Coven and hell-bent on decimating anyone who gets in her way.

"Coven" features an extraordinary cast including Oscar, Emmy and Golden Globe award winners Jessica Lange and Kathy Bates; Golden Globe Award winner and Academy Award nominated Angela Bassett; Emmy Award nominated Sarah Paulson; Golden Globe Award winner and Emmy nominated Frances Conroy; Oscar and Golden Globe award nominated Gabourey Sidibe; Emmy Award nominated Denis O'Hare; Emmy Award nominated Patti LuPone; Evan Peters; Taissa Farmiga; Lily Rabe; and Emma Roberts.

Ryan Murphy, Brad Falchuk, Dante Di Loreto, Tim Minear, James Wong, and Jennifer Salt are executive producers of "Coven."

Season 4

The fourth installment, "American Horror Story: Freak Show," begins its tale in the quiet, sleepy hamlet of Jupiter, Florida. The year is 1952. A troupe of curiosities has just arrived to town, coinciding with the strange emergence of a dark entity that savagely threatens the lives of townsfolk and freaks alike. This is the story of the performers and their desperate journey of survival amidst the dying world of the American carny experience.

The "Freak Show" cast includes Jessica Lange, Kathy Bates, Sarah Paulson, Michael Chiklis and Angela Bassett.

Season 5

The fifth installment, "American Horror Story: Hotel," features Lady Gaga, Kathy Bates, Angela Bassett, Sarah Paulson, Evan Peters, Matt Bomer ("White Collar," "Magic Mike"), Denis O'Hare, Wes Bentley, Cheyenne Jackson ("30 Rock," "Glee,") and Chloë Sevigny.

"American Horror Story" is produced by Twentieth Century Fox Television.

'American Horror Story' Recap: 'Valerie Solanas Died for Your Sins: Scumbag' Introduces Another Cult
'American Horror Story' Recap: 'Mid-Western Assassination' Is Meadow and Ally's Big Adventure
'AHS' Gets 'Substantial Edits' After Las Vegas Shootings; Original Version Heads to VOD
Ryan Murphy's Fox Drama '9-1-1' Casts 'Nashville' Alum Connie Britton
'American Horror Story' Star Leslie Grossman on How the Cult Changes Meadow: 'Kai Becomes Her North Star'
'American Horror Story' Recap: '11/9′ Reveals How Kai Recruits His Cult Members
'American Horror Story' Recap: Almost Everyone Turns on Ally in 'Neighbors From Hell'
'American Horror Story' Recruits Billie Lourd for Season 7
'American Horror Story': Sarah Paulson Wants to Play Trump in Election-Themed Season
Ryan Murphy Reveals 'American Horror Story' Will Tackle 2016 Presidential Election


Network: FX
Genre: Drama
Runtime: 60 mins.
Premiere Date: October 5, 2011
Seasons: 5
Theme Song:
"Tainted Love" written by Ed Cobb and performed by Hannah Peel
Production Company: 20th Century Fox Television

FX Renews 'American Horror Story' for Season 6 — The network has ordered the next chapter of the Emmy and Golden Globe-winning franchise for next year. Read more...
Emmy Awards 2015 Winners — "Game of Thrones" takes home a grand total of 12 awards, including best drama, while "Olive Kitteridge" lands 8, including best limited series, and "Veep" tallies 5, including best comedy. Read more...
2015 Primetime Emmy Awards Nominations — "Game of Thrones," "Better Call Saul," "Downton Abbey," "Homeland," "House of Cards," "Mad Men" and "Orange Is the New Black" will duke it out for the top drama prize. Read more...

Series Regulars


Got spoilers? What did you think of the last show?

Post a Comment
Display Name
E-mail (optional)
(not displayed with comment)
URL (optional)
  BB code and links are not permitted.