Premiering Memorial Day, Monday, May 28, the original Nickelodeon TV movie, starring Keke Palmer, is a music-infused contemporary twist on the classic Cinderella tale.

Rags (Nickelodeon TV movie) cast
April 23, 2012

SANTA MONICA, CA — Nickelodeon rocks Memorial Day with the premiere of the brand-new original TV movie, "Rags," on Monday, May 28, at 8:00 p.m. (ET/PT). Set against a New York City backdrop, this music-infused contemporary twist on the classic Cinderella tale stars Keke Palmer ("True Jackson," "VP," "Akeelah and the Bee") as international pop princess, Kadee Worth and Max Schneider ("How to Rock)" as an orphan and aspiring singer, Charlie Prince. Beginning May 22, the "Rags" Soundtrack, featuring nine songs from the movie and three bonus songs, will be available via all digital service providers. "Rags" is executive produced by Nick Cannon, directed by Bille Woodruff ("Honey," "Beauty Shop)," with original music written and produced by Rodney "Darkchild" Jerkins ("American Idol," Lady Gaga, Beyonce). Palmer also serves as producer.

"'Rags' is a fresh take on a classic story and delivers a relevant message about finding your true voice," says Marjorie Cohn, Nickelodeon's President, Development and Original Programming. "The movie features two super-engaging stars in Keke and Max, and memorable, original songs by one of today's most prolific producers."

"It was an amazing experience bringing my vision to life for Nickelodeon and working alongside such talented people," adds Executive Producer Nick Cannon. "Viewers will love this reinvented tale about overcoming adversity and following your dreams."

"Rags" follows the story of Charlie Prince, an orphan living in New York City with his acerbic and unloving stepfather and spoiled, simple-minded stepbrothers Andrew and Lloyd (Burkely Duffield, "House of Anubis"). Charlie's dream is to be a singer, and while he is vocally talented and can write music, he can't seem to catch a break. Kadee Worth, on the other hand, is the daughter of music mogul Reginald Worth (Isaiah Mustafa) and is an international pop phenomenon. While the world knows her as a glamorous superstar, she is secretly frustrated with singing other people's songs and wearing clothes other people choose for her. Kadee wants the world to hear and see her true talent. Despite every obstacle that gets thrown in their way, once Charlie and Kadee find one another, they each finally get what they have been looking for — a voice, a stage, an audience and each other. The movie also stars Drake Bell ("Drake and Josh") as Shawn, a sound engineer helping to further Charlie's singing career and Avan Jogia ("Victorious") as Finn, a celebrity who is in an arranged relationship with Kadee for publicity. 

The "Rags" soundtrack will be available via all digital service providers on Tuesday, May 22. The soundtrack showcases nine original songs performed by the cast of "Rags" including "Me and You Against the World," "Perfect Harmony" and "Not That Different At All." Fans can also enjoy three exclusive bonus songs: the never-before-heard "Things Aren't Always What They Seem," and alternate versions of "Someday" and "Stand Out" (see below for track listing).

Fans can visit to view music videos, sneak peek of clips from the movie and photo galleries. Following the premiere, "Rags" will be made available on iTunes, Xbox, Playstation Store, Amazon Instant Video and Vudu. 

Palmer starred for two seasons as budding fashion executive True Jackson in the Nickelodeon comedy series, "True Jackson, VP." She recently appeared in the feature film, "Joyful Noise" with Queen Latifah and Dolly Parton and was featured on the movie's soundtrack. She will also voice the role of Peaches, a young wooly mammoth, in the fourth film of the blockbuster franchise, "Ice Age: Continental Drift," set to release in summer 2012. Palmer has also appeared in several feature films including "Akeelah and the Bee" and "Madea's Family Reunion."

Schneider currently stars opposite Cymphonique Miller in Nickelodeon's hit live-action comedy series, "How to Rock." He began his professional career in the Broadway musical, "13." In 2010, Schneider was one of twenty chosen out of 6,000 applicants to attend the YoungArts Program in Miami where he specialized in musical theater. Later that year, he landed a Fall/Winter 2010 international Dolce & Gabbana advertising campaign where he was photographed with Madonna as her son by world-renowned photographer, Steven Klein. He has also acted in several off-Broadway productions including "Gypsy of the Year," "Recoil," "HiFive Benefit," "Macbeth Fleance," "West Side Story," "Spelling Bee," "Hair" and "King and I. "

Director Bille Woodruff has been at the helm of feature films including "Honey," "Beauty Shop" and "Bring It On: Fight to the Finish." He is well-known for directing music videos for a number of pop, R&B and hip-hop artists since the mid-1990s including Britney Spears, Toni Braxton, TLC, Miranda Cosgrove, Usher, Backstreet Boys, Salt-N-Pepa and Mary J. Blige. Grammy nominated music producer/composer Rodney "Darkchild" Jerkins has worked with a number of legendary recording artists including Lady Gaga, Beyonce, Black Eyed Peas, Michael Jackson, Janet Jackson, Jennifer Lopez, Whitney Houston and Brandy. Jerkins was also recently a music producer and mentor on season ten of the hit FOX series, "American Idol. " Additionally, Rosero McCoy ("America's Best Dance Crew," "Step Up") serves as the movie's choreographer.

"Rags" is executive produced by Cannon ("TeenNick HALO Awards," "Wild 'N Out," "School Gyrls") as well as Marjorie Cohn, Lauren Levine ("Bridge to Terabithia," "Best Player") and Jessica Rhoades ("Best Player," "Spectacular!)" in addition to Michael Goldman. Based on a screenplay by Jason Fuchs, Elizabeth Hackett and Hilary Galanoy, Scott McAboy's Pacific Bay Entertainment produces.

The full track listing for the "Rags" soundtrack is as follows:
  1. "Me and You Against the World" - Cast featuring Keke Palmer & Max Schneider
  2. "Someday" (film version) -  Cast featuring Max Schneider
  3. "Love You and Hate You" - Cast featuring Keke Palmer
  4. "Nothing Gets Better" - Cast featuring Max Schneider
  5. "Stand Out" (film version) - Cast featuring Keke Palmer
  6. "Hands Up" - Cast featuring Max Schneider
  7. "Perfect Harmony" - Cast featuring Keke Palmer & Max Schneider
  8. "Look at Me Now" - Cast featuring Keke Palmer
  9. "Not That Different at All" - Cast featuring Keke Palmer & Max
Bonus Tracks:

  10. "Stand Out" (album version) - Cast featuring Keke Palmer
  11. "Things Aren't Always What They Seem" - Cast featuring Keke Palmer & Max Schneider
  12. "Someday" (album version) - Cast featuring Max Schneider