Premiering Sunday, June 23, the sophomore season of the BBC America period drama series will feature new cast members Donal Logue, Eamonn Walker, Lee Tergese and Andrew Howard.

Donal Logue and Tom Weston-Jones Copper
March 29, 2013

NEW YORK, NY — BBC America announced today, hit original series "Copper," will premiere Sunday, June 23, 10:00pm ET/PT. The first teaser trailer, featuring music by Iron and Wine, will be revealed tomorrow during BBC America's broadcast of "Doctor Who" at 8:00pm ET/PT. Set in 1865 New York City, Tom Weston-Jones returns as Detective Kevin Corcoran, an Irish-American cop who seeks justice for the powerless in the notorious Five Points. Donal Logue ("Sons of Anarchy," "Max Payne"), Eamonn Walker ("Chicago Fire," "Oz"), Lee Tergesen ("The Big C," "Oz") and Andrew Howard ("Hatfield & McCoys," "The Hangover") join the cast for the second season.

The new trailer features an Iron and Wine cover of the 1854 song "Hard Times Come Again No More" written by Stephen Foster. Commissioned by BBC America, singer-songwriter, Sam Beam — the artist behind Iron and Wine — recorded the classic American song for the period drama and gave it a modern edge. has the exclusive stream of the track today.

"We wanted to find a song in the classic American musical cannon that still resonated today, but also spoke to the world of "Copper," and give it a modern twist," says Matt Stein, SVP Marketing, Promotions and Creative, BBC America. "Sam's ethereal voice has exactly the perfect blend of soul and sorrow, which conveys what's in store for our characters in the second season."

Returning cast includes Kyle Schmid ("Arrow," "Being Human"), Anastasia Griffith ("Once Upon a Time," "Damages") Franka Potente ("American Horror Story," "The Bourne Supremacy"), Ato Essandoh ("Django Unchained," "Elementary"), Kevin Ryan ("Tripping Tommy," "Raw"), Dylan Taylor ("Covert Affairs," "Charlie Bartlett"), Kiara Glasco ("Haven," "I'll Follow You Down") and Tessa Thompson ("For Colored Girls," "Heroes").

"Copper" is created three-time Emmy Award-winner Tom Fontana and Academy Award-nominee Will Rokos. Academy Award-winner Barry Levinson, Fontana, Rokos, Tom Kelly, Cineflix Studios President, Christina Wayne, Sherri Rufh, Sam Berliner, and Katherine Buck. Larysa Kondracki is co-executive producer and director. "Copper" is a Cineflix Inc. production in association with BBC America and Shaw Media.