"Human Target" cast
"Human Target" cast
"American Idol 2016" Top 24 contestants for Season 15
"American Idol 2016" Top 24 contestants for Season 15
"The Simpsons" characters
"The Simpsons" characters

FOX Rolls Out Schedule for New Year

"American Idol" and "24" return to the air in January; "The Simpsons" celebrates its milestone 450th episode; and new shows "Our Little Genius," "Human Target," "Past Life," and "Sons of Tucson" make their series debuts.

November 24, 2009

Bookmark and Share

FOX is announcing premiere dates of new and returning series as well as revisions to its 2009-2010 midseason schedule. FOX also has ordered a full season of the sophomore drama "Lie to Me."

January starts off on a high note when the ninth season of "American Idol," television's No. 1 series, begins with a two-night premiere Tuesday, January 12 (8:00-10:00 PM ET/PT) and Wednesday, January 13 (8:00-9:00 PM ET/PT). Immediately following "American Idol" on January 13 (9:00-10:00 PM ET/PT), FOX unveils the not-to-be-missed series debut of "Our Little Genius," a new unscripted series that features America's most gifted kids as they are tested with some of the most challenging and difficult questions that only a remarkable little genius could answer.

A special extended primetime event on Sunday, January 17 kicks off with the NFC Divisional Playoff (4:00 PM-CC ET live/1:00 PM-CC PT live), which leads into the explosive series preview of "Human Target" (8:00-9:00 PM ET/PT), the new full-throttle, action-packed drama about a unique private contractor (Mark Valley) who will stop at nothing even if it means becoming a human target to save his clients. The special primetime event concludes with the first installment of the pulse-pounding two-night, four-hour premiere of 24 (9:00-11:00 PM ET/PT). The season premiere of 24 clocks in for two more hours of action Monday, January 18 (8:00-10:00 PM ET/PT), and the season premiere of "Human Target" airs Wednesday, January 20 (9:00-10:00 PM ET/PT) following "American Idol" (8:00-9:00 PM ET/PT).

On Sunday, January 10, FOX presents a special "Simpsons" event beginning with the animated series' milestone 450th episode, "Once Upon a Time in Springfield" (8:00-8:30 PM ET/PT), in which Bart (Nancy Cartwright) and Milhouse (Pamela Hayden) try to help Krusty (Dan Castellaneta) regain his popularity after network executives force him to restructure the format of his television show by hiring a female sidekick, Princess Penelpoe (guest voice Anne Hathaway). Then, Academy Award-nominated filmmaker Morgan Spurlock ("Super Size Me," "30 Days") will present The Simpsons 20th Anniversary Special: in 3-D! on Ice! (8:30-9:30 PM ET/PT). The documentary special examines the global phenomenon that is "The Simpsons" and serves as the momentous conclusion to the "Best. 20 Years. Ever.," a year-long global celebration of "The Simpsons" that launched in January 2009.

Chef Gordon Ramsay steps out of his own kitchen to serve up a new season of "Kitchen Nightmares" on Friday, January 29 (9:00-10:00 PM ET/PT). Each week, Chef Ramsay will try to help turn around some of the most unsanitary and unsuccessful restaurants in New York, New Jersey, Florida and California on the verge of closing their doors forever.

"Past Life," a new drama series inspired by the book "The Reincarnationist" about detectives who investigate the world of the unexplained, will bow with a two-hour series premiere Thursday, Feb. 11 (8:00-10:00 PM ET/PT) and will make its time period premiere Thursday, Feb. 18 (9:00-10:00 PM ET/PT).

"Sons of Tucson," the new family comedy from Emmy Award winner Todd Holland ("Wonderfalls") about three young brothers who hire a charming, wayward schemer to stand in as their father when their real one goes to prison, debuts Sunday, March 14 (8:30-9:00 PM ET/PT).

"American Idol" sings on Tuesdays (8:00-9:00 PM ET/PT) when it makes its time period premiere January 19 followed by the time period premiere of "Our Little Genius" (9:00-10:00 PM ET/PT), and 24 syncs up for its time period premiere Monday, January 25 (9:00-10:00 PM ET/PT).

After its fall finale Wednesday, December 9 (9:00-10:00 PM ET/PT), "Glee" returns from its interlude with a score of all-new episodes on a new night beginning Tuesday, April 13 (9:00-10:00 PM ET/PT). "Fringe" delves into its winter finale Thursday, Feb. 4 (9:00-10:00 PM ET/PT) and then resurfaces with new cases beginning Thursday, April 1 (9:00-10:00 PM ET/PT). Joss Whedon's "Dollhouse" goes out with a bang with its series finale Friday, January 22 (9:00-10:00 PM ET/PT).

FOX 2009-2010 Midseason Schedule
(All times ET/PT except as noted)


January 4

7:30 PM - "Tostitos Fiesta Bowl" (live)

January 18

8:00-10:00 PM - "24" (2-night / 4-hour season premiere, part 2)

Beginning January 25

8:00-9:00 PM - "House"

9:00-10:00 PM - "24"


January 5

7:30 PM - "FedEx Orange Bowl" (live)

January 12

8:00-10:00 PM - "American Idol" (season premiere, part 1)

Beginning January 19

8:00-9:00 PM - "American Idol"

9:00-10:00 PM - "Our Little Genius"

Beginning April 13

8:00-9:00 PM - "American Idol"

9:00-10:00 PM - "Glee"


January 13

8:00-9:00 PM - "American Idol" (season premiere, part 2)

9:00-10:00 PM - "Our Little Genius" (series premiere)

Beginning January 20

8:00-9:00 PM - "American Idol"

9:00-10:00 PM - "Human Target" (series premiere)


Beginning January 14 (no change to lineup):

8:00-9:00 PM - "Bones" (all-new episodes)

9:00-10:00 PM - "Fringe" (all-new episodes)
February 4

8:00-9:00 PM - "Bones"

9:00-10:00 PM - "Fringe" (winter finale)

February 11

8:00-10:00 PM - "Past Life" (2-hour series premiere)

Beginning February 18

8:00-9:00 PM - "Bones"

9:00-10:00 PM - "Past Life"

Beginning April 1

8:00-9:00 PM - "Bones"

9:00-10:00 PM - "Fringe"


January 1

8:00 PM - "Allstate Sugar Bowl" (live)

Beginning January 8

8:00-9:00 PM - "Bones" (encore episodes)

9:00-10:00 PM - "Dollhouse"

January 22

8:00-9:00 PM - "Bones"

9:00-10:00 PM - "Dollhouse" (series finale)

Beginning January 29

8:00-9:00 PM - "House" (encore episodes)

9:00-10:00 PM - "Kitchen Nightmares" (season premiere)

(no change to lineup)

8:00-8:30 PM - "Cops"

8:30-9:00 PM - "Cops"

9:00-10:00 PM - "America's Most Wanted"

11:00 PM-Midnight - "The Wanda Sykes Show"

Midnight-12:30 AM - "Sit Down, Shut Up"


January 10

8:00-8:30 PM - "The Simpsons" (450th Milestone Episode)

8:30-9:30 PM - "The Simpsons 20th Anniversary Special: In 3-D! On Ice!"

9:30-10:00 PM - "The Cleveland Show"

January 17

4:00 PM - " NFC Divisional Playoff" (live)

8:00-9:00 PM - "Human Target" (series preview)

9:00-11:00 PM - "24" (2-night / 4-hour season premiere, part 1)

January 24

6:00 PM - "NFC Championship Game" (live)

Beginning January 31 (no change to lineup)

8:00-8:30 PM - "The Simpsons"

8:30-9:00 PM - "The Cleveland Show"

9:00-9:30 PM - "Family Guy"

9:30-10:00 PM - "American Dad"

March 14

8:00-8:30 PM - "The Simpsons"

8:30-9:00 PM - "Sons of Tucson" (series premiere)

9:00-9:30 PM - "Family Guy"

9:30-10:00 PM - "The Cleveland Show"