"Safe Haven" (2013 movie) is a deeply moving romantic thriller from Nicholas Sparks, the best-selling author whose novels inspired the beloved films "The Notebook" and "Dear John." In the film, a mysterious young woman arrives in a small North Carolina town and reluctantly finds new love with a lonely widower.

Katie Feldman (Julianne Hough) arrives in the tiny coastal town of Southport, North Carolina, looking to make a new, quiet life for herself. She rents a rundown cabin and takes a job waiting on tables in the local café, hoping to keep a low profile. But despite the almost impenetrable emotional walls she has built to protect herself, she is drawn in by the genuine warmth and caring of the tight-knit community, especially the town's grocery-store owner, Alex (Josh Duhamel), and his two young children.

As Katie gradually learns to trust again, Alex and his little brood teach her to experience the joys of love once more. But nothing is as simple as it seems and her newfound happiness is threatened by the terrifying secrets that still haunt her. When a mysterious stranger arrives in town asking questions about Katie, her past threatens to reclaim her. Although every instinct tells her to run, Katie decides to do whatever she must to protect her new life, as she rediscovers the meaning of sacrifice and commitment in a gripping and suspenseful story of hope, survival, and the power of true love.

The cast includes Josh Duhamel ("Transformers," "New Year's Eve"), Julianne Hough ("Rock of Ages," "Footloose"), Cobie Smulders ("The Avengers," "How I Met Your Mother"), David Lyons ("Revolution," "Eat," "Pray," "Love"), Noah Lomax ("Playing for Keeps") and Mimi Kirkland.

The film is directed by Lasse Hallström ("Dear John," "Salmon Fishing in the Yemen") from a screenplay by Dana Stevens ("Julie and Julia," "Life or Something Like It"), based on the novel by Nicholas Sparks ("The Notebook," "Dear John"). Producers are Marty Bowen ("Revenge", "The Twilight Saga," "Dear John"), Wyck Godfrey ("Revenge", "The Twilight Saga," "Dear John") and Ryan Kavanaugh ("The Fighter," "Limitless"). Executive producers are Jason Beckman ("Movie 43," "Out of the Furnace"), Jason Colodne ("Movie 43," "Out of the Furnace"), Tracey Nyberg ("Seven Pounds," "Hancock"), Nicholas Sparks and Tucker Tooley ("Act of Valor," "The Fighter"). Co-producers are Adam Fields ("Limitless," "Donnie Darko") and Ken Halsband ("The Fighter," "Dear John").

Director of photography is Terry Stacey ("50/50," "Dear John"). Editor is Andrew Mondshein ("The Odd Life of Timothy Green," "Remember Me"). Production designer is Kara Lindstrom ("10 Years," "Dear John"). The original song "We Both Know" is performed by Colbie Caillat and Gavin Degraw. Original music is by Deborah Lurie ("Footloose," "The Dictator"). Costume designer is Leigh Leverett ("Bloodworth," "Don't Fade Away").

The First Teaser for Season 2 of The Leftovers Hints That There's a Safe Haven Out There (Video)
'Safe Haven' Actor Noah Lomax to Play Andrew Garfield's Son in '99 Homes'
2014 Movie Preview: 60 Upcoming Winter & Spring Films — From 'Paranormal' Sequel to 'Transcendence' (Photos)
Best & Worst of 2013: TheWrap's Year-End Review
Best & Worst 2013: Movie Moments of the Year — '12 Years a Slave,' 'Nebraska' and Yes, 'Safe Haven'
Julianne Hough & Ashley Benson: Chord Overstreet Concert!
The Swon Brothers: 'The Voice' Top 5 Performances (Video)
Blu-Ray Releases: May 7th, 2013
Julianne Hough Shows Off Bikini Body, Relaxes With Nina Dobrev and Pals in Miami One Month After Ryan Seacrest Split
Jesse Metcalfe & Josh Henderson: Just Jared/Armani Exchange Music Festival Brunch!


Genre: Drama
Runtime: 115 mins.
Release Date: February 14, 2013
Distributor: Relativity Media
Production Companies:
Nicholas Sparks Productions
Temple Hill Entertainment

'Teen Choice 2013' First Wave Nominations — "The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn - Part 2" leads the charge for the FOX awards show with seven nods, including one for Choice Movie: Sci-Fi/Fantasy. Read more...

Post a Comment
Display Name
E-mail (optional)
(not displayed with comment)
URL (optional)
  BB code and links are not permitted.