"Talk Show the Game Show" is a series on truTV that is based on comedian Guy Branum's ("The Mindy Project," "Chelsea Lately") popular live comedy show.

The series is a hilarious mashup of two beloved television formats that pits celebrities against each other for the title of "Best Guest of the Night." Each week, celebrity guests become contestants as they compete in various talk show-inspired challenges and are judged and awarded points for their performances.

Those who will brave the scrutiny of the comedic panel of judges roasting them along the way — including Emmy-winning writer Karen Kilgariff and author and journalist Casey Schreiner — are Chelsea Handler, Maria Bamford, Wanda Sykes, Moby, Ana Navarro, Bridgett Everett, Kelis, Margaret Cho, Kyle Kinane, Wendi McLendon-Covey, and Julie Klausner, among others.

Contestants can score points by telling an anecdote; getting a laugh from the audience; mentioning a city and getting applause from the audience; using a euphemism in place of a curse word; flirting with the host; flirting with the judges; name dropping; drinking alcohol on stage; political grandstanding; giving a gift to the host; flashing the host; doing a spit take; lying about and/or obscuring their age; doing an impression; singing; making the host cry; and making the audience go "awwww."

The following are grounds for sanction during play: failure to respect the host; failure to respect the audience; showboating; steamrolling; excessive name dropping; being boring; excessive agreement; being underdressed; being overdressed; not knowing things a person should know; pomposity; *ss-kissing; mispronunciation; white male fragility; murder; and delay of game.

"Talk Show the Game Show" is produced by Push It Productions, with Wanda Sykes, Page Hurwitz and Branum serving as executive producers.


Network: truTV
Genre: Game Show
Runtime: 30 mins.
Premiere Date: April 5, 2017
Seasons: 1
Production Company: Push It Productions

Got spoilers? What did you think of the last show?

Post a Comment
Display Name
E-mail (optional)
(not displayed with comment)
URL (optional)
  BB code and links are not permitted.