"The Slap" (TV show) on DirecTV's Audience Network is a daring and thought provoking drama series that traces the shattering repercussions of a single event — a man slapping a child who is not his own — on a group of family and friends. Exploring what happens when the veil of civility that binds us as a society is set aside by one disturbing action, the series brings to life the universal questions of parenting, the rights of children, race, class, sexuality, and the different perspectives of men and women.

Based on the award-winning and celebrated novel of the same name by Christos Tsiokas, the series' cast includes Golden Globe Award-nominee Melissa George ("Grey's Anatomy," "Alias"), Academy Award-nominee Sophie Okonedo ("Mrs. Mandela," "The Secret Life of Bees"), Tony Award-nominee Essie Davis ("Burning Man," "Cloud Street"), Jonathan LaPaglia ("Cold Case," "Burn Notice"), Alex Dimitriades ("Summer Coda," "Underbelly") and Sophie Lowe ("Beautiful Kate").

"The Slap" premiered in October 2011 on ABC1 in Australia, followed by BBC Four in the UK. The series proved to be a hit in both countries, achieving top audience ratings and critical acclaim. Hailed by the Australian press as one of the bravest, most compelling and finest dramas of the year, it gathered equally rave reviews in the UK press.

The series, produced by Matchbox Pictures for ABC Australia, is written by Emily Ballou, Alice Bell, Brendan Cowell, Kris Mrksa and Cate Shortland, directed by Jessica Hobbs ("Love My Way," "Answered by Fire"), Matthew Saville ("Noise," "The King"), Tony Ayres ("Walking on Water," "The Homesong Stories," "Saved"), and Robert Connolly ("Balibo," "The Bank"), is executive produced by Penny Chapman ("The Straits," "My Place"), produced by Helen Bowden ("Soft Fruit"), Tony Ayres and Michael McMahon ("The Home Song Stories," "Saved"). Christos Tsiolkas served as associate producer and story consultant.

TV Ratings: 'Two and a Half Men' Finale Swells, 'Odd Couple' Starts Strong
Zachary Quinto Will Incite a Wicked Controversy in the Slap


Network: Audience Network
Genre: Drama
Runtime: 60 mins.
Premiere Date: February 15, 2012
Seasons: 1
Production Company: Matchbox Pictures

Zachary Quinto and Brian Cox Join 'The Slap' — Peter Sarsgaard and Mary-Louise Parker have previously been cast in the NBC miniseries, based on the critically-acclaimed Australian project of the same name. Read more...
DirecTV Acquires 'The Slap' and 'The Shadow Line' — Australian import "The Slap" premieres Wednesday, February 15, while the U.K.'s "The Shadow Line" bows Sunday, February 19, on the Audience Network. Read more...

Got spoilers? What did you think of the last show?

Post a Comment
Display Name
E-mail (optional)
(not displayed with comment)
URL (optional)
  BB code and links are not permitted.