"The X Factor" (FOX TV show) is a reality competition singing series that gives viewers the opportunity to help choose the next musical megastar.

In "The X Factor" Season 3, hosted by Mario Lopez, the judges will travel the nation searching for talent 12 years old or over — both solo artists and vocal groups — who are willing to brave the panel for a chance to make their dreams of becoming a superstar come true. Auditions were held in spring 2013 in Los Angeles, California; Charleston, South Carolina; New Orleans, Louisiana; Long Island, New York; and Denver, Colorado.
Contestants will audition in front of the judges, including Simon Cowell, Demi Lovato, Kelly Rowland, Paulina Rubio, and an audience of thousands. This will be the ultimate test to prove they have the vocal ability, charisma and stage presence it takes to become a global superstar or breakout music act and win a recording contract with Syco/Sony Music.
Those contestants who survive the first auditions will be divided into four categories: Boys, Girls, Over 25s and Groups. Each category will be mentored by one of the show's judges. Not only is it a competition between the hopefuls to stake their claim for the coveted win, but it's also a showdown among the judges as to whose acts will dominate the competition and make it to the finals. The judges may have their say in how the competition progresses, but it will be up to America to decide who ultimately has "The X Factor."
The series has discovered winners Tate Stevens and Melanie Amaro and several other breakout stars, including Emblem3, Fifth Harmony, Carly Rose Sonenclar, Rachel Crow and Chris Rene, who all have signed to record labels. Last season, the show featured guest mentors Justin Bieber, Marc Antony, will.i.am and Nick Jonas, and performances by musical superstars One Direction, Taylor Swift, Alicia Keys, Bruno Mars, Leann Rimes, Pitbull and Little Big Town.

"The X Factor" originated in the U.K. and has discovered global superstars such as One Direction, Leona Lewis, Cher Lloyd and JLS. Artists discovered by "The X Factor" format have sold more than 100 million records worldwide, including 110 No. 1's, 270 Top 10 records and 500 Top 50 releases. "The X Factor" (USA) airs in 191 countries, and local versions of "The X Factor" are commissioned in 41 territories.
"The X Factor" was created by Syco Television and is produced by Syco Entertainment and FremantleMedia North America. Rob Wade and Nigel Hall are executive producers for Syco Television. Trish Kinane, Richard Holloway and Andrew Llinares serve as executive producers for FremantleMedia North America.


Network: FOX
Genre: Reality
Premiere Date: September 21, 2011
Seasons: 3
Production Companies:
Syco Television
FremantleMedia North America

FOX Cancels 'The X Factor' — "Unfortunately, there is no 'X Factor USA' without Simon Cowell, but we understand and support his decision to focus on the international formats and on the next phase of his personal life," said Kevin Reilly. Read more...
'The X Factor' Season 3 Winners Are Alex & Sierra — The finale of the singing competition series featured performances by Paulina Rubio, One Direction, Lea Michele, Pitbull, Mary J. Blige, Leona Lewis, Johnny Rzeznik and Prince Royce. Read more...
'Teen Choice 2013' Winners Announced — After more than 150 million votes, award winners included "Iron Man 3," "The Perks of Being a Wallflower," "Pitch Perfect," "Pretty Little Liars," "The Vampire Diaries," "Glee," Justin Bieber, Demi Lovato and One Direction. Read more...

Got spoilers? What did you think of the last show?

Post a Comment
Display Name
E-mail (optional)
(not displayed with comment)
URL (optional)
  BB code and links are not permitted.